Mobile phone dinosaur (part 2): menu craze

What can I say: my mobile phone’s menu has 13 top level entries and each of them has numerous sub menus aso.
Just recently it took me a quarter of an hour to find the alarm clock on my Nokia mobile. How would I go about and find it?
Looking at the menu names none really made sense. So why not check out a help menu? But there is no help menu. Finally there is System which contains Help which contains another Help so, hurray, only 3 levels deep but I’m there. Or not?
Can’t seem to locate Alarm or Alarm clock.
Ah, there are two tabs (which I noticed only after coming back to this menu 10 times thinking, it must be there, it must be there. And the second tab has an alphabetical listing and there I find it. Phew. I get 3 choices and one of them is good: alarm clock is in Menu -> Office -> Clock. Why hadn’t I guessed that Clock is in Office?
Yeah, why not.

If using the alarm clock in my mobile phone somewhat seems to contradict my previous rant about having too much functionality: well, if it’s there I have the occasional use case, no doubt.

About mysenf

I'm almost 50 years old, male, was born and raised in Germany, have a wife and children, make a living in IT, and the rest will follow.
This entry was posted in Technical stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

